Folkuniversitetets Skrivarakademin in Stockholm has just released its sign-up info for next spring’s Creative Writing and Narrative Theory course.  I’ll be teaching Monday evenings, 6-9:15 p.m., at Kungstensgatan 45.

What will writers be getting for their money?  My goal is teach people everything I’ve spent the past twenty-odd years painfully learning in classes and by hand, through trial and error and the hundreds of rejections I accumulated before becoming a working author.  Skills and theory, as well as updates on what’s going on in the publishing industry and the world of literature, so people won’t have to figure it all out by themselves.  Also: a sense of community, and a chance to take yourself seriously as a writer.  Visual artists often rent studios when they decide to really invest in their art; paying for a course can be a way to invest in your future as a writer.  I took a number of writing and playwriting courses at college, and what I learned wasn’t always apparent right then.  But now I’m glad for every one of them –– almost every time I sit down to write, I remember something I learned in one of my courses.

I hope it will be absolutely worth the investment.  Please contact me at kevin.frato@folkuniversitetet.se if you have any questions.