So far I haven’t written about the book I just spent a year completing.  But it was finally released yesterday, so maybe it’s time.

The book is called Echo: Main Issues 5, (an English textbook for high school students in Sweden) and has been beautifully produced by Natur och Kultur, who commissioned it from me last spring.  Writing a textbook was something new for me.  Even though I regularly write instructional texts for my students, I’ve never put this many thoughts into a single instructional text before.  In addition , it’s also full of genuine, tailor-made writing.  The way such textbooks usually work is that the main reading texts are culled from a wide variety of sources (which in my opinion as a teacher tends to be awkward and unwieldy to work with).  I decided to work in a holistic fashion, writing texts to unify purpose, situation, and learning goals.  It was an enormous amount of work, much of which would have been impossible without my editor.

I’m pleased with and proud of the results:

501517